

Prof. S. Mahendra Dev is presently Distinguished Professor, ICFAI School of Social Sciences, Hyderabad and Chairman of the Institute for Development Studies, Andhra Pradesh. He is presently independent director in Axis Bank. He was the Director and Vice Chancellor, Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research (IGIDR) in Mumbai for 12 years during 2010-2022. Prior to this position, he was Chairman of the Commission for Agricultural Costs and Prices, Ministry of Agriculture from 2008 to 2010. He was Vice Chairman of the Board of Trustees of International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), Washington, D.C. He was also member of the Board of IFPRI for seven years from 2013 to 2019. He was member and Acting Chairman of the National Statistical Commission, Government of India. He got the prestigious Malcolm Adisesaiah Award in 2016. He was Director, Centre for Economic and Social Studies, Hyderabad, India for 9 years from 1999 to 2008.He is member of executive committee of International Economic Association. His main areas of interest Agricultural economics.

He has around 150 research publications in national and international journals in the areas of agricultural development, poverty and public policy, inequality, food security, nutrition, employment guarantee schemes, social security, farm and nonfarm employment. He has written or edited 19 books. His well cited publication is "Inclusive Growth in India: Agriculture, Poverty, and Human Development" published by Oxford University Press. His book "Perspectives on Equitable Development" was released by the former Prime Minister of India.

He has been a consultant and adviser to many international organizations, such as UNDP, World Bank, International Food Policy Research Institute, UNESCO, ILO, FAO, ESCAP, UNICEF, DFID, and OECD. He has been a member of several government committees in India, including the Prime Minister's Task Force on Employment chaired by Dr. Montek Ahulwalia, advisory committee for the National Commission on for the Enterprises in the Unorganized sector, member of the Committee on Financial Inclusion chaired by Dr. C. Rangarajan, member of the Expert Group on Poverty chaired by Dr. C. Rangarajan. He is the Chairman of the Committee on Terms of Trade on Agriculture constituted by the Ministry of Agriculture. He was member of several working groups for 9th, 10th, 11th and 12th Five-Year Plans in India. He is also member of several committees of NITI Ayog. He has received honors for eminence in public service. He got awards for best teacher in economics and outstanding contribution to education. He received honorary doctorate (D.Litt) from the Acharya Nagarjuna University, Andhra Pradesh. He is currently the Editor of the Economic and Political Weekly (EPW).